Redevelopment Ready Community (RRC) Program

Home / Planning Services / RRC Program

Redevelopment Ready Communities (RRC) Program is a voluntary, no cost certification program through the Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) promoting effective redevelopment strategies through a set of best practices. The program measures and then certifies communities that integrate transparency, predictability and efficiency into their daily development practices. The RRC certification is a formal recognition that a community has a vision for the future and the fundamental practices in place to get there. EMCOG staff has attended the training sessions and will work with local governmental agencies that are interested in applying to become a Redevelopment Ready Community.

Why Choose to Become a Redevelopment Ready Community? In today's competitive economy, developers and businesses can invest anywhere. Certified Redevelopment Ready Communities signal that locating a new business or growing an existing one within their municipality is straightforward. Certified communities have removed barriers to development including eliminating uncertainties surrounding project timelines and approvals by implementing best practices that:

  • Specific areas targeted for reinvestment
  • Zoning regulates for development that implements the vision of master plan
  • Officials and staff understand their role in redevelopment for the community
  • Zoning ordinance allows for mixed-use by right in specific districts
  • Development materials are easily accessible online
  • Proactively market redevelopment opportunities
  • Create a business friendly, one stop community

MEDC has identified evaluation forms and guides to assist those communities that are interested in participating in the RRC process. These can be found at the website below:

Redevelopment Ready Community Resources