Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) and Regional Economic Development Team (Red Team)

Home / Community Development / CEDS and RED Team

The East Michigan Council of Governments (EMCOG) is a voluntary state designated regional council officially organized as a Council of Governments.  EMCOG is one of 14 such Regional Councils within the State of Michigan.   The region consists of 14 counties, 33 cities, 44 villages, 245 townships and 1 Federal Indian Nation.  The region is also a U. S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration designated economic Development district (EDD).

Historically within the State of Michigan, the 14-county EMCOG Region has been known as Region 7. The primary purpose of EMCOG is to foster sustainable, diversified and resilient economies in the east central region of Michigan. As a neutral convener the Council also encourages collaboration and cooperation amongst local governments and public/private initiatives within and among other regions both within and outside of the Region. To further this purpose a primary goal of EMCOG is the development of a five-year Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) that brings together the 14 counties around a shared vision to set the stage for sustained regional economic growth and resiliency.

In 2012 Michigan’s Governor created the Regional Prosperity Initiative (RPI) and established 10 Prosperity Regions covering the entire State.   Eight of the fourteen EMCOG counties are now known as East Central Michigan Prosperity Region 5 (PR-5): Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Isabella, Midland and Saginaw counties).  The six remaining counties in EMCOG Region 7 are included in two other Prosperity Regions that overlap with the EMCOG Region EDD.  Iosco, Ogemaw and Roscommon counties are included in PR-3 and Huron, Sanilac and Tuscola counties are included in PR-6.  EMCOG is the designated convener of PR-5 Collaborative for RPI-5 and is a member of the collaborative of both PR-3 and PR-6.  In 2014-2015 each of the three Prosperity Regions within EMCOG developed a 5-year Prosperity Strategy.  The three (3) Plans along with other plans have been incorporated into the 2016 five-year CEDS for the 14 county EMCOG Region.

The CEDS process is required for entities in the region to qualify for EDA assistance under its public works, economic adjustment, and most planning programs. The Regional Economic Development Team (RED Team) is responsible for the development of the CEDS, with input from regional partners. The CEDS is also an excellent resource to facilitate coordination and to assess the many economic development activities in the fourteen-county region. As the EDA-designated body for the region, the East Michigan Council of Governments also acts as a liaison to local governments, nonprofits, and the EDA.

2015 RED Team Accomplishments

For more information about EDA assistance, please contact:

Bill Ernat
Program Manager
East Michigan Council of Governments (EMCOG)
3144 Davenport Ave., Suite 200, Saginaw, MI. 48602
(989) 992-8700 |