About Us

Home / About Us

The East Michigan Council of Governments (EMCOG) is dedicated to uniting the region's elected officials, planning professionals and the public around a common vision of making a great region even greater.  EMCOG strives to build consensus on enhancing the economy, improving transportation, protecting the environment, promoting placemaking and may expand its focus into other areas that are consistent with the provisions of our enabling legislation.  EMCOG provides a neutral forum for local governments to foster communication and collaboration in addressing regional or multi-jurisdictional issues and needs and at the request of our constituent municipalities, EMCOG also provides technical and planning assistance.  

We serve a diverse region of fourteen (14) counties and one sovereign Indian Tribe: Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Ogemaw, Roscommon, Saginaw, Sanilac, Tuscola and the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan.

Download the EMCOG Catalog of Services for more information.

EMCOG Organization Chart