Roscommon County

Home / About Us / Directory of the Region / Roscommon County

Roscommon County is located in the center of northern Michigan’s Lower Peninsula. It is surrounded by three beautiful lakes: Higgins Lake, Houghton Lake and Lake St. Helen.

Roscommon County communities are conveniently accessible from two major freeways (I-75 & U.S. 127). As of the 2010 Census, the population was 24,449. The county seat is the village of Roscommon. The county was founded in 1840 and organized in 1875. Both the county and county seat are commonly referred to by locals as "Rosco". Roscommon is home to the Firemen’s Memorial Festival which began in 1979 in honor of the fallen heroes. It is held on the third weekend in September, Thursday through Sunday.

Roscommon County was originally part of Midland County, which was organized in 1850. It remained part of Midland County until it was separated in 1875. Roscommon County was named after County Roscommon, Ireland.